Skip to content

Music and Me

April 15, 2009

The last week was great with Miah and Soyin here in Chicago. The good company gave me a reason to leave my room and the work to explore the city. We went places, ate great food, talked nonsense (including a short discussion on why anyone would want to buy those breath mints that claim to clean your tongue as you eat it. Seriously, why would someone want such thing? The breath mint scraped dirty things off your tongue, then what? You swallow them! Gross!).

Miah and Soyin at Chicago

Miah left very early this morning before sunrise. I spent the day doing a piece of write-up (poorly done, but can’t care less coz’ it’s boring), and watched 交響情人夢 Europe Special on yahoo video. I find it very comforting. (On the note about comforting TV shows, evolutionary psychology theory suggests that, because TV is only a very recent invention compared to the long human evolution history, our brain cannot tell that people we see every day in the TV are not real, it treats them all as friends, and TV drama or sitcoms are so comforting because our TV “friends” will never hurt us. I have made and relied on many such friends in recent years). Back to what I was saying, afterward watching 交響情人夢, I sang for like half an hour in the shower, mostly songs that I know well and remember the lyrics. I love to sing in the shower, when nobody is listening but myself. I can be totally at ease, no need to perform, no need to please or fear judgement, just singing for the sheer enjoyment of singing. There are a few songs that have special meanings to me, including, The Lord Bless You And Keep You- my first quartet performance in HK Cultural Centre when I was in P.4, All things bright and beautiful- my all time favourite, Love is a plaintive song – the song that I sang and gave my music class in BSS goosebumps. Oh, and Donna Donna- the first song that made me cry when I was in P.1, it’s a song about a cow going to the slaughter house, this is one song that I avoid to sing. When I sing, I am happy, very simple. However, I always have trouble answering the question: what kind of music do you like/listen to? I don’t have a particular type of song that I like. Must I be so selective? I just like songs and melodies that I can sing to. Very often I can’t even remember the name of the songs.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2009 9:29 am

    I like Soyin’s t-shirt with the banana. Where did you get it?
    The breath mint… it reminds me the “correct” way we should deal with phlegm – we should swallow it because the acid in stomach will kill the bacteria. Maybe it’s hygienic, but I just cannot accept the intentional act of swallowing phlegm.

    • Miah permalink*
      April 17, 2009 6:31 am

      Is the reason for swallowing being the correct way to deal with phlegm solely because it kills the germ? Then surely spitting it into Dettol is equally correct if not more?

  2. Miah permalink*
    April 17, 2009 6:51 am

    Shower-singing is magical. I am sorry that my family and you have to bear with my shower-singing and shower-songs, though.

    Hey, Shower-Karaoke! This is a going to be fantastic, shower-karaoke!

Leave a Reply

