Skip to content

青春

May 16, 2009

In the last two weeks, I spent 30 odd hours finishing all 102 episodes of the Japanese cartoon, “小孩子的玩具 (國語叫: 玩偶遊戲)”, on Tudou. It is one of those cartoons that I watched part of it when I was small and never got to see the rest and the ending (ATV used to run it on Saturday afternoons, 1-2 episodes per week). The story is about a bunch of P.6/F.1 teenagers, their first encounters of love, comradeship, heartaches, and cruelty of reality, and how they fight back to make sense of things. All the time I was watching it, I was reminded of my own early teenage years. They were so rich with emotional experience filled with passion, laugh and tears, and I felt so alive at that time. I do not believe I will ever get to experience that again. After all, you only get to be 青春 once, and the excitement is in the first times. I am grateful for all the drama (scripted or unscripted) in my teenage years. They are great memories to think about when I am old. I begin to understand why Miah is so opposed to seeing himself as an adult. Indeed, to stay as alive as we can, we cannot let the kid in us die. Seeing the world as an adult is no fun because you see but do not feel much any more.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Miah permalink*
    May 17, 2009 11:24 am

    What you said about feeling alive in your teenage years reminded me of Stephen Fry’s letter to his 16 year-old self:
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2009/apr/30/stephen-fry-letter-gay-rights

    If I think back myself, I cannot think of a particularly period when my life is particularly filled with emotions. Is that strange? I think to a certain degree, I still feel just like how I used to feel, except with a flatter tummy, maybe.

  2. Connie permalink
    May 28, 2009 2:37 pm

    I remember that cartoon!

    I dun think the kid in us will ever die =P We are all to kiddy haha.

Leave a Reply

