Skip to content

Arthouse animations

May 23, 2009
by

I am guessing you have watched the first video and maybe a bit of the second, skipped the rest and jumped directly here to read what I have to say about the rubbish mess I dared to call arthouse animation. That would be what I would have done, too. If you hadn’t, allow me to take my hat off to you, because you either trust me so much that you overcame your own aesthetic values, or you have an understanding of art that I didn’t have. (There is also a chance that you might just have too much time to kill, but I like to think it is one of the first two reasons.) Don’t get me wrong, the set of five videos posted above, known as Octocat Adventures, truly is a piece of art. They are part of an experiment done by an Irish animator David O’Reilly. In March, 2008, under the disguise of a child named Randy Peters, O’Reilly posted these animations about an eight-legged cat trying to find its parents onto Youtube. Yes they are crudely drawn and dubbed, but they are drawn to express real human emotions and one would realise that, despite the unfamiliar world, characters, visuals, audios etc., a piece of art touches you because of its emotional core. The experiment proved to me how much more important this emotional core in art is compared with skills or aesthetics. It showed how much of the facade can be stripped down for the artistic quality to remain in a creative piece.

Please Say Something is one of the newest pieces of work by David O’Reilly about “a troubled relationship between an abusive Mouse and his wife, an intensely emotional cat”. This is actually the first piece of his work I saw, I was confused at first but by the end completely charmed. I like to think that my appreciation to art has grown a bit after watching these videos, I hope you will enjoy them, too.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. siuto permalink*
    May 23, 2009 10:16 pm

    I watched all 5 videos before reading your comment, for the first reason that you mentioned. For the first 2-3 videos, I felt a bit scared and disturbed. For the last two, I felt a bit sad.

  2. Miah permalink*
    May 24, 2009 1:15 am

    Thank you. Can’t stand Please Say Something?

Leave a Reply

