Skip to content

On Admiration

July 28, 2009
by

I am finally reading <Sense and Sensibility>, the book I borrowed from HTY 8 years ago.

In page 94 Elinor and Marianne said something which I echoed with delight:

“…many people pretend to more admiration of the beauties of nature than they really feel…”

“It is very true, that admiration of landscape scenery is become a mere jargon. Everybody pretends to feel and tries to describe with the taste and elegance of him who first defined what picturesque beauty was. I detest jargon of every kind, and sometimes I have kept my feelings to myself, because I could find no language to describe them but what was worn and hackneyed out of all sense and meaning.”

(The same could be said on admiration of food, which is of greater concern to me.)

Maybe I was more a science person and I am often unwilling to say more than what is factual, and I do hate people who tend to exaggerate on every subject. People probably find me dull for the lack of vivid expressions and lively descriptions on various matters, and I dislike myself for thinking excessively before I talk, which deprives my speech of eloquence. This part of my character I might never be able to change, but it was quite a relive to find company in a character in a Jane Austen classic.

By the way I am having trouble finding the right prepositions. Need to improve on that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

