Skip to content

Cooking in the Congo

September 1, 2009

In an economist’s point of view, which if I may humbly call myself one (that was not at all humble, I suppose), I have been a free rider of a public good. I am horrible at being committed in blog-writing. It has taken me so long to write my first post that I couldn’t even remember my login name at first. At any rate, I decided that, on this night when I really had nothing particular to say, I might as well say something.

This post has nothing much to do with “Cooking in the Congo”, apart from the fact that I am in the Congo, and that I would like to talk about cooking. But really, it could be cooking anywhere.

Buying meat is a complicated and expensive task here. So instead, I became a practical vegetarian for dinner. Once in a while, I have some sardines from a can, or some strange Middle Eastern canned luncheon meat with Arabic written on it, but most of the time, I only cook vegetables for dinner.

On this particular night, I decided to make eggs with tomatoes, Chinese style. This simple dish, unfortunately, I’ve always found it rather difficult to produce with satisfactory results. Sometimes it’s too wet, sometimes the eggs don’t stick well, sometimes it’s a mess, sometimes it’s just tastes weird. Today, I decided to look up 蕃茄炒蛋 on Google, and I came across the 蕃茄炒蛋秘笈.

So here, you may refer to this if you ever want to make this dish but have not been entirely happy with your skills.

http://www.epochtimes.com/b5/7/12/20/n1948882.htm

I did not follow this particularly closely, only the order of cooking, really. However, I did find that the order of cooking suggested in the recipe significantly improved my dish.

Last night, when I was cooking rice, I also experimented with adding carrot shreds into the rice. It turned out very nice, and I could also pretend that I am now very very healthy.

Happy cooking.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Miah permalink*
    September 1, 2009 10:13 pm

    There are so many variations on 蕃茄炒蛋! In my family, the dish is almost paste-like. In Siuto’s family, the egg is in strips!

Trackbacks

  1. Cooking in the Congo « Don't have anything particular to say | congotoday

Leave a Reply

