Skip to content

Derren Brown on Hong Kong newspaper

September 10, 2009
tags:
by

I have been looking forward to Derren Brown’s new series since December and now that it is mentioned on the news in Hong Kong, maybe I should report it here too. (I also want to write something about what I like about Derren Brown’s previous work as well, as I like him no less than I like Lennart Green or Juan Tamariz.)

幻術大師 估中六合彩 被指掩眼騙術 預測之謎今揭曉

【明報專訊】不少人發夢也想中六合彩,英國 著名心理幻術大師布朗(Derren Brown)周三便在國家彩票(National Lottery,類似香港的六合彩)開彩前,「預測」到全部6個中獎號碼,令人嘖嘖稱奇。布朗表示,今天會公開預測的方法,屆時人們或可知道他到底是真有「異能」,還是只有掩眼騙術。

I would like to point out that he is never trying to claim psychic abilities, in fact all along the stunts in this new series are meant to be feats of trickery and misdirection (as mentioned in the trailer below). One of the reasons for my anticipation is that this series is somewhat a return to “magic” (in the traditional sense, more than suggestion and hypnosis) since his previous series Trick or Treat.

Update:

Apple Daily’s coverage on the stunt.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Siuto permalink*
    September 16, 2009 3:38 pm

    Back to London and watching a lot of TV. I watched that episode of DB. What I felt after watching the show was that he did not really reveal how he did it. He tried to convince the audience that he did it through the wisdom of crowd, but it’s just not believable, at least not to me, coz’ I don’t think the theory of wisdom of crowd applies to random events as such. He gave the audience an explanation that sounds plausible, but then let them self-persuade themselves back to think that the explanation cannot be true, and really just left us with no real revelation of his trick. Maybe this is what miah meant by magic in the traditional sense? -Tricks that leave you thinking, “How did he do it?”.

  2. Miah permalink*
    September 16, 2009 8:27 pm

    I have a slightly different idea about this, tell you more when my thoughts are lined up.

Leave a Reply

