Skip to content

Ten things we are going to miss when we leave Britain – Part 2. Amazon.co.uk

June 3, 2010

The orange arrow in Amazon's logo apparently means "everything from A to Z"

When you open a new tab in the Chrome browser, the thumbnails of your eight most-visited pages are displayed. There is, however, an option to remove pages from this list, which is a slightly curious function. Your most-visited websites are surely those you want to be most easily accessible, so the only reason for hiding one of them is to avoid embarrassment. For me, Amazon.co.uk is one such website that I frequent but am slightly ashamed to admit so.

To admit that I buy some of my books from Amazon is like to admit I more than sometimes choose to take the bus rather than take the 15-minute walk from my home to Central. It makes you sound like a slothful child spoilt by technology, but as you eavesdrop on the debate of your conscience, you realise there is not enough reason to convince you to do otherwise. Yes, walking doesn’t pollute, but not taking the bus doesn’t stop the bus from running; yes, you should support your local businesses, but the book is unmistakably 40% cheaper from Amazon and it will be delivered to your door for nothing! If there is one thing that is worse than admitting that I buy most of my books online, it is to admit that I buy all of my books (and DVDs, and Siuto’s birthday gifts) online. Now browsing in physical bookshops has become a form of window-shopping for Amazon for Siuto and I. Imagine how the owner of a bookshop would feel when a cheerful couple walk in, pick up a book, flip through the first few pages to realise it is literature gold and then walk right out of the shop saying, “let’s get that on Amazon.” That is awful, that is unfair, that is absolutely the behaviour of horrendous nasts – but you have to understand that the truth is I have hardly ever bought anything on Amazon that is less than 30% cheaper than the recommended retail price.

When I go back to Hong Kong, I will be buying books the proper, old-fashioned way again. The good news is books are on average cheaper in Hong Kong anyway, but that is partly because Chinese books tend to be cheaper in general. As for the expensive English books, well, that’s when having a younger brother who studies in the UK comes in handy, I guess~

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Soyin permalink*
    June 3, 2010 10:57 am

    I love your writing more and more~

  2. Soyin permalink*
    June 5, 2010 4:11 am

    I just think it’s more and more eloquent and entertaining.

Trackbacks

  1. Ten things we are going to miss when we leave Britain – Part 3. BBC « Don’t have anything particular to say

Leave a Reply

