Skip to content

Ten things we are going to miss when we leave Britain – Part 3. BBC

June 21, 2010

Not this BBC.

Maybe it’s the way they are raised, maybe it’s the environment they grew up in, maybe it’s the food they eat and water they drink, or maybe it’s just the accent they have, for whatever the reason, all the British-Born Chinese I have met are good-looking, funny and intelligent. When I go back to Hong Kong, which is largely populated by standard Chinese rather than the superior special-edition Chinese, I am going to miss the BBCs.

Joking aside, you probably know that I am very fond of the British Broadcasting Corporation. (If my life was a salad and I put all my joking aside, all that is left will probably be some croutons – there is very little and it ceases to be a salad.) I am fully aware that I start far too many everyday conversations with the phrase, “an article on BBC recently said that…” and I will not deny that I have almost a blind trust on whatever I read on BBC’s news website. But news is only a fraction of what the BBC’s website offers. It has a comprehensive Language page, where you can take online video courses in seven of the most popular languages and pick up basic phrases in another 29. There is also BBC’s page on Food, where one can not only access a searchable recipe collection, but also find a Get Cooking video section. My favourites are the Techniques and Cook’s Guide videos, where techniques not often taught in your standard cookery shows are explained. There are lessons on knife skills, how to make hollandaise sauce, how to choose the best piece of beef and more. Things I imagine people with proper training in cooking to know are now made accessible to everyday home cooks. So far, I have only mentioned contents of the BBC website. In fact, both my favourite TV programme and radio show are associated with the BBC label, but to avoid making this piece sound too much like a home-brewed advert, I shall leave those for another time.

I think BBC excels at much of what it does not only due to its openness to available technologies and its unique experience in the media industry, but also more fundamentally because of its clear and very positive mission – to “inform, educate and entertain”. This is something that I have learnt from the company and try to apply to the things I do. When I give a presentation or write a piece for work or for fun, I aim to do two, if not all three of what BBC does. That way, even if the croutons failed to excite you, at least the salad leaves made you feel good.

When I am back in Hong Kong, much of the BBC website will be ad-supported and some of its best content will cease to be accessible. I shall, however, get my regular fix by downloading the podcasts and catching up with the shows which are made available on DVDs.

After the very British start by mentioning the weather, I have talked about Amazon.co.uk and the BBC, to continue the alphabetical trend for a short while, next time I shall talk about something that starts with the letter C, which is something I have touched upon a few paragraphs above…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Soyin permalink*
    June 22, 2010 10:24 am

    My department is going to hire a BBC and he shall come in during August.

    Looking forward to your next article, but at this pace you are going to continue writing about the things you will miss three months after you come back to Hong Kong…

Leave a Reply

